Mankato Educator Among Minnesota Teacher of the Year Candidates

(Mankato, MN) – A Mankato educator is among the candidates for 2018 Minnesota Teacher of the Year.

Sandra Hatlestad has been teaching in Mankato Area Public Schools for nearly 30 years. She’s currently teaching 3rd grade at Bridges Community School and prior to starting there last fall, she was at Monroe Elementary.

Other teachers from Southern Minnesota who are among the candidates are:

Jacque Sorensen, Albert Lea Area Schools
Arik Anderson, Austin Public Schools
Erin Meyers, Fairmont Area Schools
Jackie Demarais, Faribault Public Schools
Janet Smith, Faribault Public Schools
Kaylee Wiens  Faribault Public Schools
Sandra Hatlestad, Mankato Area Public Schools
Malia Norton, Medford Public Schools
Amanda Gislason, Owatonna Public Schools

In all, there are 167 candidates from across the state for the Teacher of the Year award. Over the coming weeks, a 25-member panel of community leaders will narrow the list to a group of semifinalists and finalists, with the winner to be selected in May.

(Copyright © 2018 Southern Minnesota News – Alpha Media Mankato. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)



New Orleans man wanted in connection with Sibley County swindle Charges: New Ulm couple stored meth paraphernalia within child’s reach Memorial Day marks the start of the 100 deadliest days on Minnesota Roads Alleged groper charged in Blue Earth County Shari Kagermeier announces her candidacy for Mankato mayor Levine files to challenge Zehnder Fischer for Nicollet County Attorney