Mankato school board member resigns

A member of the Mankato Area Public School board has resigned.

Darren Wacker, who was elected to the board in 2017, submitted his resignation effective immediately, according to a notice from the school district.  Wacker served as board chair in 2019 and 2020.

Wacker told SMN his personal situation has changed since he was elected to the board.  He said his work on the board was creating schedule challenges for him personally, and in his career.  He was clear that his resignation was not a response to the divisive issue plaguing school districts, but he admits that the current climate made a difficult decision easier.

At the January 18 meeting, the MAPS school board will appoint an eligible district resident to complete Wacker’s term, which expires in December 2022.

Applications to fill the open seat will be accepted from December 22 through January 7 and are available at the district office in the Intergovernmental Center.

School board member resignations have tripled this year in Minnesota, according to an October Associated Press report.  Issues such as mask mandates and teaching critical race theory have been divisive in communities, with board members caught in the crossfire.

In September, St. Peter school board member Bill Soderlund resigned suddenly and without explanation.


More about: